Park Lane Academy

‘We aspire to be the best at everything we do’

Child Care

Cover Image

Year 10

Child's Play Learning and Development: Key Stage 4

Exam Board: BTEC Pearson

Subject Content

Patterns of Child Development - this unit reflects the importance of child development for the age range, which is also reflected in the focus of this qualification on birth up to eight years. This unit is externally assessed to ensure learners know the developmental milestones and can apply this knowledge and understanding to case studies.

Promoting Children’s Development Through Play - this unit reflects the importance of play as a route of children’s learning, which also forms the basis of early years frameworks, such as the Early Years Foundation Stage (England) and Foundation Phase (Wales).

The Principles of Early Years Practice - this unit ensures learners appreciate the importance of inclusive practice and the key person approach within the early years sector.

Promoting Children’s Positive Behaviour - this unit has been added in the Certificate as a mandatory unit. As learners studying a larger size qualification may already be considering a career in the early years sector, they will, therefore, need to understand how to promote and support children’s positive behaviour, which is a key skill when working with children. This unit is externally assessed in order to ensure learners are able to apply their knowledge and understanding to different scenarios within the early years sector.

Health and Safety in Early Years Setting - this unit introduces learners to the important health and safety practices used within the early years sector to ensure the safety of children.

Supporting Children’s Language and Literacy Development - this unit introduces learners to ways of supporting children’s language and literacy development, which reflects the increasing importance of literacy skills.

Making Healthy Food Choices for Children - this unit explores the basic nutritional and dietary needs of children from birth up to eight years, reflecting the importance of nutrition for children as it affects their growth and development.

Introduction to Working in the Early Years Sector - this unit introduces learners to roles and responsibilities in different types of early years settings to help inform future career planning, and reflects recent developments in the sector.

Skills Taught

  • Personal, learning and thinking skills
  • English knowledge and skills
  • Maths knowledge and skills


Assessment Detail

The Pearson BTEC Level 1/Level 2 First Certificate in Children’s Play, Learning and Development includes two externally assessed units to introduce externality into vocational programmes of study.

It also includes a written examination; worth 25% of the grade.

Students will need to complete core units and mandatory units: Unit 1: Patterns of Child Development; Unit 2: Promoting Children’s Development Through Play; Unit 3: The Principles of Early Years Practice and Unit 4: Promoting Children’s Positive Behaviour.

Students are required to take at least three of the four optional specialist units to ensure they have a broad understanding of the early years sector.

Year 11

GCSE Home Economics: Child Development: Key Stage 4

Exam Board: AQA

Subject Content

Throughout the course students will cover a variety of topics about Child Development. The subject content of the course is divided into five areas:-

  • Parenthood
  • Pregnancy
  • Diet, health and care of the child
  • Support for the parent and child


Students will gain knowledge and understanding of the subject content through completion of the ‘Research Task’ where they will choose from externally set tasks and produce a booklet or leaflet aimed at giving parents informed advice about looking after their children/babies.

The Child Study focuses on an externally set task where students will choose a child and study its development over a period of time.
The written examination will test any of all of the five areas and the ‘Research Task’ will test any area except the ‘Development of the Child’.
The ‘Child Study’ will focus mainly on the ‘Development of the Child’.

Skills Taught

Throughout both the ‘Research Task’ and the ‘Child Study’ students will focus on the planning of the outcome, research of it, production of the outcome and finally the analysis and evaluation of it.

Students will learn skills in group working, detailed analysis including conducting surveys and interviews along with risk assessments and researching about environmental impacts and new technologies.

The skills and knowledge acquired will be relevant and transferable to other settings, enhancing career opportunities.
This will be classroom based supervised work and students will complete the work in the allotted time set by the exam board.


Assessment Detail

Unit 1: The Written examination carries 40% of the final grade. It is a 1 hour 30 min exam comprising of 6-8 compulsory questions of short answer, structured and free response questions.

Unit 2: Research Task carries 20% of the final grade and must be carried out under supervision within the classroom as it is a Controlled Assessment. This should occupy approximately 7 hours of supervised time.

Unit 3: Child Study carries 40% of the final grade and must be completed under classroom supervision. It should occupy approximately 20 hours of supervised time.